Building Bookcases

By the way girls, never do what Im doing right now. ~ Daddy as he was adjusting the blade of his PLUGGED IN circular saw...

"By the way girls, never do what I'm doing right now." ~ Daddy as he was adjusting the blade of his PLUGGED IN circular saw...

Today Daddy and Amanda spent most of the day building bookcases to put in the attic. Lady L helped them a lot too, but she also took a break to go to the store with Mom and I. Me, I just watched and took pictures. 8)

After cutting and drilling, comes the sanding. In the beginning, no one was interested in doing that part, so Daddy did it, but after awhile Amanda and Lady L pitched in and helped. I applaud them.

Please note the flying sand dust :)

Please note the flying "sand" dust!

Lady L gave Daddy his Laurel crown… er, Dill bloom… for excellence in work! The following series reflects the fun we have when we work together.

You can just see the Dill on the left side of Daddys hat

You can just see the Dill on the left side of Daddy's hat

Sanding done, the shelves must be assembled. And that is Amanda’s forte. I had an awful time getting really decent pictures of her screwing the shelves together, so please forgive my inferior angles!

Dad’s knowledge really comes in handy sometimes… alright, it comes in handy A LOT!!! πŸ˜†

Mom and Lady L served lunch… leftover pizza, cherries, and pineapple! Oh, and of course water. πŸ˜‰ We (meaning us three girls) don’t drink nearly enough of it, but Mom was very careful today to make sure we had a glass handy!

And now for the last and most, uh, embarrassing perhaps? What I didn’t get done today…

Yeah, most of them areny planted yet.

Yeah, you can see that most of them aren't planted yet.

😳 Probably one of my worst shortcomings is not doing what I know is important, and instead doing what I want to do at the moment. As a result, I have been unhappy all day because I had a guilty conscious, and knew that I was being irresponsible with my time. But tomorrow is another day, and I pray that God will be with me, showing me what needs to be done, and helping me beat those tempting distractions.

Humbly in Christ,
Michelle

This entry was posted in Home Life and tagged on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

2 thoughts on “Building Bookcases

  1. Sam

    Looks like you all had fun while working. One of the best times to have fun ;).
    Oh, I completely know what you mean Michelle! 😦 Those distractions are hard to beat, but with God’s help, we can overcome them!

    Reply
  2. jovanajean

    Great to find your blog~ its really neat to learn more about you and your family! Thats great that your dad can build bookcases- a homeschooling family can never have enough of those! πŸ™‚
    May the Lord bless you!
    ~Jenny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

