Then There Were Three – Part 1

Well, well… don’t I have some interesting news for you! I WAS going to write about “a beautiful drive we took”, but that was a long time ago and something a lot more blog-worthy happened on Sunday, so that is what you shall hear… or rather, read… instead.

Like most Sundays in the Spring and Fall, we couldn’t resist the urge to take advantage of our gorgeous weather and go on an afternoon picnic at a state park. The problem? Like most other Sundays in the Spring and Fall when we can’t resist the urge to take advantage of our gorgeous weather and want to go on an afternoon picnic at a state park, we couldn’t make up our minds where to actually go! Having narrowed it down to 3 places, we took a vote and (with a couple of troublesome peeps who voted twice) two of the places were tied. We voted again, just between the two, and finally came up with where we would go. This whole process was agonizingly drawn out, and even after the place was revealed by majority vote, some of us were a little skeptical about whether this was the best place to go.

We made our way there listening to one of Jonathan Lindvall’s Bold Christian Youth seminars in the car. Having settled in at our picnic table, we read a few chapters from Psalms and Proverbs, Lady L read from a devotional, and we worked on memorizing 1 Thessalonians 5:16-24 (almost have it down!). Mom wanted to talk to Daddy about some things, so Amanda, Lady L, and I went walking down along the lake, over the dam, and jumping from rock to rock, we made our way across the creek. We had to be back to Mom and Dad by a certain time, and upon crossing the creek, we immediately headed back. Our dinner was yummy roast beef sandwiches and coleslaw. The bugs were getting worse, so we packed up and drove off towards the restrooms for a quick stop before heading home (which was about an hour and fifteen minutes away).

So you see, we’re driving slowly down this park road at dusk, and all of the sudden I noticed these 5 little animals hopping around on the side of the road. I said, “Guys, look! What are they?” Of course, as soon as I said that I realized they were rabbits… pet rabbits. That’s what had me thrown off at first, they were not the normal cottontails you see all the time. Mama told Daddy to stop and we all got out to see what on earth was going on! Unsure of whether they were truly domestic rabbits, or escapees who had learned to live in the woods (it happens…), we walked up to them, trying to see how close we could get before they spooked… it was within a few feet. The only explanation we could come up with, was that someone had abandoned them there, and we made up our minds to rescue them. You should have seen us!

Running around like crazy people trying to prevent them from sprinting deep into the woods: “Hurry! Block his way over there… No! No! Back this way, towards the road! There we go, close in over there… I’m moving in towards you… nooo! He slipped through.”

We soon figured out that the above tactic was the wrong one, and corrected by moving on to the one below.

Crawling on our hands and knees, saying kind things in a sugary tone, trying to settle them and keep them from running away from us: “Hi there. It’s okay, I won’t hurt you. Stay there, it’s alright, we’re just helping you. I know, you’re scared, I can understand that, but it’ll be fine…”

Luring them in with their stomachs, still talking in that same tone: “…look what I’ve got for you! Come on, here it is… there you go! Wasn’t that good? I have some more… uh-huh… keep eating… [tone change] …GOT ONE!”

It was a grayish/brownish fluffy one! Once we got it in our arms, we had no problem with it. It was so scared, it just hunkered down and wouldn’t move. Now that we had the strategy figured out, we moved on to the next one. This one, a dark gray/black one, was a little less scared, and thus less willing to accept our words of comfort and offer of food. Just about ready to give up on that one, Mom and Dad found a little baby out in the woods and herded it back towards us at the road.

Temporarily distracted from the black, Lady L and I turned our attention to the baby. We found out another strategy this time – get them in the tall grass. They feel safer and don’t move nearly as much, making it much easier on us! Lady L successfully caught it, and I turned back to Amanda and the black one she had been trying to watch and catch single-handedly. I almost caught it a few times, but my schmoosing scheme didn’t seem to be holding any charm for it. So I devised a new tactic for this guy… run him out of steam. 😛

I know, it’s kinda mean sounding, but it was a last resort. He stopped to catch his breath in the hollow of a tree – the exact same spot I caught the first one in. I inched up to him, just like I did the other one, and voila! We had three caught! The other 2 had disappeared, and it was basically dark now. Amanda and I walked down the road to where we saw them run off into the woods earlier, and we realized that they were probably hiding in all the ferns that covered the forest floor in this area. Knowing that even if we did find them, catching them would be next to impossible with all the ferns, and thinking that it would be awful going home knowing that we had given up on them, even though we knew right where they were, Amanda and I decided against traipsing in after them. Besides, we are all getting a bit worried about bears. It was just the right time of night for them, and we didn’t want to scare up a “nasty giant bunny”.

Really, 3 out of 5 isn’t bad.

We all know that God had us there at the park for a reason, and we’re very happy to have had the chance to save these rabbits.

I’m sure there are many questions in your mind right now… Are they boys or girls? What breed are they? What are we going to do with them? Do they have names? And many others as well. I assure you, there are a lot more details I would like to share, but I’m afraid they must wait for the next installment! If you DO have questions other than the ones just stated, mention them in a comment and I’ll include the answer in one of my follow-up posts. 😉

Waiting in my Father’s will,
Michelle

This entry was posted in Animal Adventures and tagged , , , , on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

2 thoughts on “Then There Were Three – Part 1

  1. Sam

    Okay, I’ve already asked you most the questions I had earlier, including the ones in your post, but I still want to comment!
    Great post! I wish we lived close enough to go visit ya’ll and see your rabbits, but alas, we’re all the way across the country. 😦 Oh well.
    Can’t wait for the next installment!!! I hope it’s soon! 😀
    ~Sam~

    Reply
  2. Michelle Post author

    Wow, Sam! That was quick… just 20 minutes after I posted it! 😀

    I’ll do my best to continue the story within a few days, only this time with pictures. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

