Baby Bunnies – 4 days old

I have some sad news for you. We lost one of the dark babies yesterday. 😥 I have no idea why, but there is a little comfort in knowing that bunnies have a high mortality rate within the first week of life. At about 10 days old, when their eyes begin to open and they get furry, the healthy ones will still be alive and they should be out of danger.

I was a little worried after finding the dead baby, so I went ahead and took one of the others out of the nest, just to make sure they were being fed and seemed alright. Lady L took the pictures.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Waiting in my Father’s will,
Michelle

This entry was posted in Animal Adventures and tagged , on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

6 thoughts on “Baby Bunnies – 4 days old

  1. Michelle Post author

    They don’t have names yet. For one, it would be a little hard to tell the 2 dark ones apart right now, and second of all, we want to see their personalities emerge first! Though, I can already tell you that the light one is going to be handful! 😉 It moves around wildly when you open up the nest, and is always the first one to whimper and mew when it finds out your not mama coming to feed them. 🙄

    I have yet to get today’s pictures, but hopefully soon!

    Reply
  2. Sam

    Oh, okay, good idea.
    I just want to mention one thing: Latte! OKay, there, I finally got it out. See, Risa and I, whenever the subject of your rabbits comes up, say that if you want more coffe names Latte should be one of the suggestions (you don’t have to use it or anything).
    Have a wonderful Christ-filled day!
    Sam

    Reply
  3. Michelle Post author

    Thanks for that suggestion, you two! It might just work for the light colored one! We’ll see…

    (this reminded me, Mocha’s name is pretty well broke in and stuck now, so Mocha she will stay)

    Reply
  4. Risa

    Wow! Baby bunnies in your house! I was sorry to hear about the dark babby. I hope that the others grow strong and healthy.

    Your friend,
    Risa

    P.S. The pictures you’ve posted are very nice. I am glad that you were able to find such a nice camera!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

