Behold, Thy Handmaid

I can’t believe Christmas is only 1 week and 5 days away! We have been so busy getting all the supplies we need to make each others gifts, that I’m worried we won’t have enough time to actually complete them! It’s rather ironic to my way of thinking. But that’s not what I’m here to post about.

As we were doing our advent reading on Thursday, I was impressed by, and understood a little better Mary’s words to Gabriel:

“Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. And the angel departed from her.” Luke 1:38

I always knew that Mary’s words were ones of acceptance and obedience to God’s will, but what strength of character and complete trust it must take to say, in essence, “whatever the Lord desires of me, I am here to do it.” Everyone has some level of control-freakishness (to use a term I’m not fond of, but can’t find an alternative for), and I myself have this urge to get involved in everything! So I understand how difficult it can be to let another take charge, especially when it directly affects me.

We all need to learn from Mary’s obedience. We all need to be able to say, “Behold, here I am, Thy will be done.” One thing I have learned recently, is that to embrace God’s will, and to find peace in giving up your own will, you have to be quiet in your spirit. An inner calmness really makes self-surrender a joy. And I think Mary had calmness and quietness in abundance. I believe that is the “secret”.

However, it hasn’t been easy to find a calm amid the storm of doubts and worry that the Enemy of my soul has placed in my way. But in turning to God and and His Words, I have found the answer and I am so happy to know that He is always with me.

Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.
Psalm 42:11

When He giveth quietness, who then can make trouble?
Job 34:29

But whoso hearkeneth unto me shall dwell safely, and shall be quiet from fear of evil.
Proverbs 1:33

And the work of righteousness shall be peace; and the effect of righteousness quietness and assurance for ever.
Isaiah 32:17

Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them.
Psalm 119:165

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.
Isaiah 26:3

Peace because of Jesus:

Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.
Matthew 11:29

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.
John 14:27

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.
John 16:33

And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:7

I am always calmed just by reading the Bible, and today I especially needed these verses. I am so thankful that God impressed it upon my heart to write this post, and find the verses this morning, because we had a discussion about Storm, our dog’s, health this afternoon, and it was rather depressing, but I was comforted by these verses that were so fresh in my mind.

May God bless you and keep you in all peace. Remember what God says about our cares – it’s the only way to live at peace.

Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.
1 Peter 5:7

Humbly Seeking Christ,
Michelle

This entry was posted in Living for Christ on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

2 thoughts on “Behold, Thy Handmaid

  1. Le

    Yeah!! Another post!!
    Those are all really good verses!
    We are going through Romans chapter 5 in Wednesday night church. Pastor was talking about how the peace WITH God and the peace OF God were different. The peace OF God comes and goes, but, once we accept Jesus as our savior, the peace WITH God is always there. It’s a very comforting thought to know that God cares about us, and is willing to give us peace, if we will only let Him take over for us.
    Thanks for another really great post, Michelle!
    Lots of love,
    Le

    Reply
  2. Risa

    Thank you for the great post, Michelle! I definitely need to learn from that. It is an important lesson and you did a great job with it. I really appreciate the reminder.
    I am so sorry about your dog and I am praying for you all. I’m very gald that you were led to read these verses and look into the subject this morning! The Lord is so good to comfort us when we need it.

    Ever yours,
    Risa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

