First Garden Planting!

Our first seeds went into the soil on Wednesday! Lady L already had some seeds starting in a makeshift nursery in the basement, but I’m talking actually in the garden, outside! 😀 On Tuesday evening, Lady L and I had a great time together cleaning up some dead bean vines on the fence from last year (hehe, yes we were late with that), and then on Wednesday I took a bunch of pictures, while she tried to plant around me. We got done just in time too, as it started to sprinkle as we were planting the last few things.

"Space" is actually a Spinach variety... not just empty "space", as confused my dear sister Amanda

Planting Romaine

Still planting Romaine... lots of it! For us, anyway. 🙄

The things "we" planted on Wednesday.

In other news, it’s been raining for most of April so far. We’ve been trying to find a good time to do some work outside, but it’s so wet right now! For the last several years, my mom and I have joked that I’m a fair weather person – no rain, no droughts, no cold, no heat. Always bright and sunny, always temps in the 70’s, always green and lush, always dry enough for a pleasant walk. I am often tempted to be unhappy with the weather and wish for something “better,” leaving trust in God’s perfect will and his wonderful sovereignty over all events completely out of the picture. To learn the lesson of Paul’s life, to know his contentment and acceptance of God’s will – oh, what a desire I have for it! Lord, humble me before you. May my every thought be for your glory, and cleanse me from all personal motives. My earnest prayer is to be conformed to the image of Christ in all things – faithful are You who calls me, who also will do it! Thank You, dear Savior.

Also, our family would appreciate prayer for tomorrow. Daddy and an electrician friend will be installing a new breaker box here, and will have the power off in the house for a few hours. Their safety is of utmost concern of course, but also that no unexpected issues pop up, which is altogether possible with a 150 year old house and a few corner-cutting contractors in the known past! For the morning and afternoon, Amanda and I will be at a huge booksale by ourselves (not selling, but buying *sigh*). That all that we do throughout the day, both those at home and those at the booksale, would glorify God is our utmost prayer.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Home Life and tagged , on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

Leave a Reply

