We Call You BLESSED

To all who read this, I stand up and point to my mother, saying, “She is blessed!”

She has raised up her children in the fear of God, and has shown us the way to go, and we in turn stand here to honor her, testifying to the whole world that our mother is BLESSED… meaning she has done right in the sight of God and enjoys his daily favor.

As Mother’s Day has drawn ever nearer over the past month or so, I kept trying to think of something creative and personal that I could give to my dear mommy as a gift. About 2 weeks ago, this flitted through my mind: “Portrait pictures… encouraging, honoring Bible verses… collage frame… breath-taking graphic… matched clothing… beach… need a male or adult chaperone… some friends we know… fun!…” The thoughts became progressively me-centered, and I confess it had devolved into a fun thing to do while still being my mother’s day gift.

But God faithfully dispersed my tower of selfishness, and led me to use an oft quoted verse, looking up it’s meaning. The Hebrew word for “blessed” in Proverbs 31:28 is ‘ashar and means to be straight (used in the widest sense, especially to be level, right, happy); figuratively to go forward, be honest, prosper. The whole project changed from there. Before, I had called it my grand scheme. At this point, it became our Mother’s Day 2011 project.

And so, recognizing the beauty and significance of such an act, I stand in front of you all, and to to my mother, I give this gift from my heart.

To Mommy:

I love you Mama, and am so thankful for your love and the training you have given us! Happy Mother’s Day!

This entry was posted in Home Life, Living for Christ, Photography and tagged , , on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

2 thoughts on “We Call You BLESSED

Leave a Reply

