Something to Obey

(This was written last Friday)

It has been a long month of high emotions, surrender, and growth… but joy. What blessed joy! I have also learned a lot of what it means to really apply many of the principles we Christians can so glibly talk about. And as much as I would LOVE to tell the particulars of the marvelous work of God in my life and our family recently, that will have to wait for another time… perhaps, sadly, for a very long time. What God has laid on my heart this afternoon is carefully and purposely obeying Him. It all started somewhere around April, when our family was sitting together in the living room listening to one of the sessions from The Sufficiency of Scripture conference.

Mr. Geoffrey Botkin was talking about applying the Sufficiency of Scripture in the home, and what it looked like for his family. He shared the specific idea of reading the Bible each morning until you can find a command to obey and then obeying it throughout the day. I thought it was a wonderful idea, and wrote it down for future reference!

Fast-forward two months, to the end of June. I had an idea. A brilliant idea, if I do say so myself! Go chapter by chapter and make a list of the commands in the Bible (mostly direct imperatives, but some indicatives from which an imperative can be derived). It has provided answers for some confusing questions I had, and is a wonderful exercise.

{Quick note: one of my “confusing questions” was whether or not to create a list of qualities I am looking for in my future husband… though encouraged by many Christian authors writing about courtship, our family has always felt a reluctance to do so. Who are we to make a list when God has THE ONE picked, planned, and prepared? However, we do understand the need for care to be taken so that we do not become blind in a moment of unguarded weakness. We discuss these things, and look to God’s Word and Spirit to inform our spirit of His will both now, and when the time comes for this weighty, “till death do us part” decision to be made. But, in the mean time, one is still torn over these lists. I believe that, for the present, the Lord has shown me a different way, a way that elicits right knowledge (not wistful sighs) and fruitful growth (not boxes for check marks). I will focus on what God requires and desires in a person, what He has commanded us to do. This is what I truly desire! A mighty man of God, maturing in His wisdom with strength from His right hand. So this shall be my list – God’s own words! It’s quite amazing and humbling to think of the perfect way in which this so fully fills the need for a “qualities list.” But back to the main program…}

As I have begun making this list, starting with 1 Peter (that is the book we are studying for the National Bible Bee), I have been floored by how truly short I am when measured against God’s standard of spiritual maturity. I come back to my Bible each morning eager to search a new chapter to find what I have been missing, to humbly let another stronghold of sin be broken as my eyes are opened. This is truly a beautiful experience, when crumbling pieces of darkness open up to the freedom of slavery to Christ.

An issue I have faced though, is how many blackened lies and temptations Satan sends in a whole day to destroy the freedom that an hour before the Lord has given me. Yesterday morning I was convicted of my need to surrender my life to Christ in the very moment when temptations and trials would obscure this freedom I have claimed. And it was then that the connection was made: continue to make the list, but each day take one command to focus on obeying, write it out on a sticky note, and place it where I go often and am most likely to need it. 😀 The microwave. Right over the oven, when I am hot and sweaty and tired of cooking… by myself all day long. Where I go to warm up my coffee when I am in need of a little something… to calm my nerves before they break.

Yesterday was from James 1:2, and it made me smile all day! I enjoyed feeling joyful! Can you believe it?! 😉

As time allows, I hope to be posting more about my experiences and findings! In the meantime, I will be finding something to obey! 😀

With love to you all in the Spirit,
Michelle

This entry was posted in Home Life, Living for Christ and tagged on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

Leave a Reply

