A Fish and Chips Style Meal

After last year’s “success” with us girls handling the meals and household tasks during mom’s recovery from surgery, we decided to at least make the meals again this year.

On Thursday we had Lemon-Dill Baked Tilapia, Broccoli, and Baked Onion Rings.  AND Mama made us some Tartar sauce to go with it. It was delicious!

Lady L and I listened to Sir Knight of the Splendid Way while she peeled the broccoli and I made the onion rings. (Amanda came in to make the Tilapia towards the end of it.) It was a very interesting, and, uh… dramatic… radio drama. During one part, when Sir Constant was tested by the sisters Sorrow and Pain, but called on them to submit to the name of God, they took him to the very feet of Christ, and I was moved to tears. The experience in the allegory was so similar to what it is in real life, and the temptations to give up in defeat so real, but the victory of Christ just as sweet… I couldn’t help but feel it. I would recommend it even if just for that scene, but the rest was almost as good, too! 😉

I used THIS recipe as a basis for the onion rings, but made my own whole wheat breadcrumbs and coated the rings in WW flour, used whole eggs (i.e. with yolks), and just seasoned with salt and garlic powder. This can obviously be easily adapted for various dietary needs.

But it was the tartar sauce that made the meal! Seriously.

For dessert I stepped out of our comfort zone a bit and made sugar-free/sweetener-free banana cookies. I did splurge just a little and used chocolate chips instead of raisins. They turned out surprisingly well, though not classic-cookie-ish. Most of us liked them enough to have them again, and mama really liked them… and enjoyed having practically guilt-free cookies.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

Leave a Reply

