Trust and Pray… another bunny illness

We’ve been through a lot with our various rabbits over the years – snuffles, conjunctivitis, vent disease (or rabbit syphilis), head tilt, maloccluded teeth, fur mites, and most recently, G.I. Stasis. But I had hoped, and now hope to never again, experience fly-strike. It’s the worst of them all, coming in right before GI Stasis and Snuffles. Shadow, one of our 2009 rescue babies, has been at the vet’s since Thursday evening. Her prognosis when we brought her in was, “if she lives through the shaving and cleaning, and if she lives through the night…”

After Smudge’s “miracle” in December (long story short: he was dying, we prayed, surrendered him to God’s will, and God restored him.. see end of post for longer story) my trust in God’s blessing over us and His care over the small matters in our lives, has been revived.

His mercies are new every morning.
His way is perfect.
He cares for me.
He has numbered the very hairs of my head.
He is sovereign over every single little sparrow.
And ultimately, He loves me!

So I prayed for Shadow. I prayed for her when she was restless, weak, and in pain. I prayed for her (and me!) when I couldn’t stop the tears for the horrific sight that met my eyes. And I prayed most earnestly for her comfort, preservation, and quick arrival as we sped through the 20-30 minute drive to the vet’s office. God very visibly granted that petition, for which I am so thankful! I continue to pray for her strength to pull through the treatment and make progress in recovery. It is in God’s hands, and I pray that He would give the vet people wisdom in handling and caring for Shadow.

I am reminded of 2 Chronicles 20:5-14, a passage I memorized a few years ago in the National Bible Bee. It tells of a time when Jehoshaphat was king of Israel, and the Ammonites were coming against them in battle to take the Israelites land. They called out to God. They said, “neither know we what to do: but our eyes are upon thee.” Then “all Judah stood before the LORD, with their little ones, their wives, and their children.” And they waited. That is how it stands with me, there is nothing I can do, the situation is completely out of my control. I call upon God for help, and now I wait. For Israel, God blessed them with victory in battle, but not through fighting. He told them, “Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude; for the battle is not yours, but God’s. … Ye shall not need to fight in this battle: set yourselves, stand ye still, and see the salvation of the LORD with you, O Judah and Jerusalem: fear not, nor be dismayed; to morrow go out against them: for the LORD will be with you.”

I trust in God, for I know he cares about the life and death of a rabbit. My rabbit.

Yet this thing with Shadow has really disturbed me. I have been clinging to the words of Psalm 46.

Psalms 46:1-11
1 God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.
2 Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
3 Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.
4 There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High.
5 God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early.
6 The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved: he uttered his voice, the earth melted.
7 The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.
8 Come, behold the works of the LORD, what desolations he hath made in the earth.
9 He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire.
10 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.
11 The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

My eyes get moist when I read it now, for I can do nothing. It is in the mighty hands of the God of all history, and though that is unequivocally the best place for it to be, it is really hard to feel my powerlessness before God, whose might and ways are past my understanding.

As of this Saturday night, Shadow seems to be holding her own. On Thursday they clipped all her hair away, cleaned the wound, and put sutures in to pull the skin together over where the maggots had eaten into muscle. When I talked to the vet on Friday, he said she wasn’t eating, which was expected considering the pain and stress she’s been through, so they have her on subcutaneous fluids for awhile. Some time today they gave her a motility-modifier to move her GI tract, and hopefully make her want to eat. When I talked to the vet again this evening, he said she went to the bathroom, which is always a good sign, but she still hadn’t eaten.

Sunday update: no change yet. The vet said he “is optimistic,” and “they’re continuing to support her” with sub-Q fluids while she recovers from the trauma. So we wait for tomorrow’s update, and pray for a hungry bunny. The Holy Spirit comforted me during the day with Psalm 112:7, [speaking of the righteous:] “He shall not be afraid of evil tidings: his heart is fixed, trusting in the Lord.”

Taken 2 1/2 years ago, she looks basically the same, except she now has more fur around her face and a darker coat.

{P.S. on Smudge… I haven’t shared anything about what we went through with Smudge and his GI Stasis last year, but at least know the end. He was literally on the brink of death and we were all sitting on the couch with him, praying for his physical comfort as his body shut down, and our own comfort to deal with losing him. We surrendered him to God. And we cried over him. In a few minutes his head jerked up and he was hungry! For the past 2 months we had been force-feeding him with a syringe, but he continually lost weight. Finally we couldn’t even get him to swallow that. He was skin and bones. But now he was hungry! Looking for food! We can only attribute it to God. We are so humbly thankful to Him for restoring our dear Smudge to us. He is now a happy and healthy indoor bunny, hopefully with litter training in his near future.}

This entry was posted in Animal Adventures, Living for Christ and tagged , , , on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

2 thoughts on “Trust and Pray… another bunny illness

  1. Risa

    I will be lifting you and your family- and Shadow- up in prayer. My sympathy goes out to you in this difficult time. I know the Lord is holding you in His hand.

    “I cried unto the Lord with my voice; with my voice unto the Lord did I make my supplication. I poured out my complaint before Him; I shewed before Him my trouble. When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then Thou knewest my path.” (from Ps 142)

    Reply
    1. Michelle Post author

      Dear Risa, what a blessing your comment was! Thank you for sharing those verses. I’ve been reading Psalms like never before these past few days, and my heart has been broken, and yet strengthened at the same time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

