An Update on Shadow

As of Monday morning, Shadow took a turn for the worse, and wouldn’t get up or move anymore, and she still wasn’t eating. The vet doesn’t know what has her down, and at this point, there’s nothing else they can do for her. We went to see her yesterday evening, and spent a few hours standing next to her cage. We were able to coax her to eat a few greens and drink from a rabbit bottle, and it seemed like she perked a bit, but she is barely holding on to life. We opted to leave her with the vet for one more night, in case there should be a problem, and hopefully come back today to bring her home and do what we can for her.

This afternoon saw no change and we brought Shadow home. She is resting in my bedroom now, hopefully comfortably. We’ll continue to hand feed greens and water as long as she’ll take them from us. And we are, of course, still praying.

Last night was difficult, as there was a really good possibility she would die overnight. But the Lord has preserved Shadow thus far, and His will be done in the end. My tears are gone, and my heart is broken. But I have a feeling that this is exactly what God wants of me.

I’ll try to get a picture of her tonight, but I also don’t want to disturb her too much.

This entry was posted in Animal Adventures and tagged , , , on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

7 thoughts on “An Update on Shadow

  1. Kathleen

    Oh Michelle!
    I will be praying for your little Shadow.
    My name is Kathleen and I found your blog through six angles ( I saw one of your comments)
    Kathleen

    Reply
    1. Michelle Post author

      Thank you so much for praying and leaving a comment, Kathleen! That means so much to us just now. I know she’s just a rabbit, but Shadow is precious to us, and I know to her Creator as well. I also appreciate you following the link from Six Angles and reading here! đŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Ashlin

    Your family, your bunny and you are in my prayers. That you all will be kept in the Lord’s perfect peace, and never ceasing comfort at this time.

    Love,
    Ashlin

    “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee: because he trusteth in Thee.” Isaiah 26:3

    Reply
    1. Lady L

      Thank you so much, Ashlin! It is a blessing to have you praying for us.

      “…The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” James 5:16b

      Reply
  3. Kathleen

    Do you have any thing new on Shadow?
    This has helped me in hard times:)
    ” Yet I will rejoice in the Lord , I wil joy the the God of my salvetion”
    Habakkuk 3:18
    Love Kathleen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

