A Devotion on Laziness

A devotion from Mountain Trailways for Youth, by Mrs. Charles E. Cowman:

“…the people had a mind to work.” (Nehemiah 4:6)

There were no shirkers or lazy workmen in Nehemiah’s group. Every man could be depended upon to do his work well and with all his heart. Laziness paralyzes the soul and the body and is a type of slow suicide.

{also, consider Proverbs 21:25-26 here, “The desire of the slothful killeth him; for his hands refuse to labour. He coveteth greedily all the day long: but the righteous giveth and spareth not.”}

“I refuse to be lazy,” wrote a noted university professor. “I refuse to be the slave of ease. I will so command my body that I shall, even at a great sacrifice, complete my plans. I cannot afford an hour of lassitude. I will study most carefully how to rest and refresh myself, but I arise to declare that I am not a slave. ‘Father, teach me the power of self-mastery. Help me to train my body to serve perfectly Thy high purposes!'”

God never called a lazy man
To do a task for Him –
He’s looking for the men who work
With energy and vim.
For men like that are sure to win
A cause they undertake.
He doesn’t want the lazy kind,
He wants men wide awake.
So if you’re called to do a task,
To help Him right some wrong,
You just be glad that you are called
To help His cause along.
(Edward H. Kessler)

“In the morning when thou findest thyself unwilling to rise, consider thyself presently, if it is to go abut a man’s work, that I am stirred up; or was I made for this, to lay me down and make much of myself in a warm bed.” (Marcus Aurelius)

Sunshine and sleep have no inter-fitness. Moonlight and ploughing are badly matched.

The youth of the world who have reached the mountain summit were not pushed into their place of triumph; they worked their way there.

One thought on “A Devotion on Laziness

Leave a Reply

