A Heart for the Difficult Days

(written this morning)

It’s one of those days. The wet dripping outside reflecting the (now clean…) wet spots throughout the house in the aftermath of a bad night of kitty indigestion (those of you with cats prone to such will chuckle in sympathy at this). Grey clouds casting their shadows over all the little corners normally bright with the newness of a breaking day. Muddy spots making our yard and garden look like a mess meant to match certain areas of the house left to themselves over the weekend. The heaviness of the humidity settling over your lungs like the reluctance to face a new school week already behind from the previous one.

It’s one of those days where you don’t feel like going to too much trouble, yet it’s precisely days like this that require more of us than the “normal” ones… days like this that demand a servant’s heart, full of joy and diligence in what the Lord has given. And today, I am smiling and crying and bursting with the desire to laugh out loud as I am poignantly aware of the reality of my Lord’s great salvation.

Through the gloom, my Savior has called to me. He has rescued me from the restless wanderings of my own heart and given me everything in Himself. It is a theme of my life that has repeated again today – the Lord bringing me to the end of myself, and showing Himself to be so much greater than I ever believed Him to be. And every single time it happens, my previous idea of who my Lord and Savior is falls apart, and I learn to know Him deeper. I learn to know myself to be so much less. I learn to love the Lord more, and to delight in whatever He delights in. Even, and especially, if that means joyfully working hard through a dreary day.

How can I help rejoicing when the Lord is with me? How can I not be thankful for a day that has turned my heart back to the Lord? How can I refuse to do a hard task when it is a royal privilege that honors and pleases my King? How can I use these same lips that praise the Lord to grumble moodily about the day ahead? Oh no, the Lord has created me, redeemed me, set me on high with Him, put a new song in my heart… and I will rejoice in Him!

This day is a blessing in disguise. Deep disguise, but with an even deeper blessing.

Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labour of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls: Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places.
(Habakkuk 3:17-19)

This entry was posted in Living for Christ on by .

About Michelle

I am the middle of three daughters, daily living by the grace of God and in awe of Christ's perfect love, to suffer and die in atonement for my sins, and then rise from the dead to give me eternal life with Him. I get excited about reading/applying/talking about God's Word, travel, fellowship, nutrition, books, writing, photography, cooking and especially baking, designing things, event planning, and doing things with my family.

Leave a Reply

